Week 1 Update

Days 1-7 are checked off my list and I am really proud of myself and mama for staying on track with our Whole30 eating. Trust me it was not easy, but a week into this and I already am feeling better and healthier. A few things I learned so far about my own eating habits is that I snack A LOT. I noticed this now that I’m eating three meals a day because I didn’t really do that before. I think I was just snacking all day, which has been a hard habit to come out of! But now that I’ve been making three yummy, healthy meals a day I feel more full and don’t have as much of a desire to snack.

IMG_4259

One thing I noticed was that by the end of the day I am more tired and actually ready to crawl in bed. I usually have a problem relaxing and allowing myself to fall asleep at night. Now that I’m a week into this I noticed I’m tired at a decent hour and able to fall asleep after laying down, which before I wasn’t able to sleep until 1-2 am no matter how tired I was. I am really happy with this improvement, yay sleep!

IMG_4256

Another thing I noticed was its actually really easy to make healthy choices when going out with friends and family. On Day 3 it was my Dad’s birthday so we went to a Padres game. Day 3 is a tough day anyway{that was being nice.. Day 3 SUCKS, watch out}, let alone being surrounded by hot dogs and nachos, which are my favs. But, I ended up finding a salad with kale and avocado that was so yummy I almost forgot how bad I wanted to snatch that hot dog out of my Dad’s hands lol. Also, on Day 6 I went to a country concert with friends and tailgated with everyone. I was a little apprehensive about not being able to drink and have fun, but I made myself a “mock-tail” of flavored water and seltzer water and I was just as happy. Plus, being sober around drunk people is GREAT for people watching!

IMG_4254

I’m not going to lie though, I had cravings this week I never usually have. At one point I almost broke down and bought myself some ice cream. I found myself daydreaming of frosting, chocolate, cupcakes, you name it, but like the book said the cravings only last a minute or two so just tough it out!  Also, I was onnee grumpy lady on Days 2-4. I think that was my body’s response to no more sugar. I was a sugarless monster. But, like everything else that phase passed and I’m feeling bright and shiny {that was a grey’s reference}.

Overall this week flew by! Wish us luck on Week 2 of the Whole30!

xx krystena

Leave a comment